April 2024 – Gabriel Tissera (Argentina)

Affiliation: Cardiovascular Institute of the Rosario British Sanatorium

Email: tisse_08@hotmail.com

Twitter: @Tisse084

  1. Tell us about yourself.

I am a young clinical Argentinian cardiologist with a solid training in cardiovascular prevention, echocardiography and ischemic cardiopathy. I am 39 years old; I live in Rosario, and I works in Cardiovascular Institute of the Rosario British Sanatorium.

  1. What are your research interests?

Mainly, our research is focused on hypertension and echocardiography.

  1. What are you working on right now?

We are working on the function of the left atrium by measuring strain in a subgroup of young hypertensive patients without cardiopathy.

  1. What do you hope to achieve in the field of hypertension over the next 5 years?

I hope that we can find tools or measures obtain by strain that let us predict hypertensive cardiopathy.

  1. What challenges have you faced in your career to date?

Probably, my post degree formation has been my mayor challenge, but I really enjoyed doing it. I think that every new challenge represents an opportunity to acquire more skills or knowledge and we should try to love the process.

  1. Which of your publications are you proudest of and why (please include paper reference)

I am proudest of “Morphologic and Functional Heart Abnormalities Associated to High Modified Tei Index in Hypertensive Patients” Morphologic and Functional Heart Abnormalities Associated to High Modified Tei Index in Hypertensive Patients – PubMed (nih.gov). Perhaps, because it was one of the first publications that I did, and we found a difference in the group of people that we analyzed.

  1. What is your favourite manuscript from a lab other than your own?

Genetics and hypertension results to me very interesting. So, Kardia-1 (RNA Interference With Zilebesiran for Mild to Moderate Hypertension: The KARDIA-1 Randomized Clinical Trial – PubMed (nih.gov) capture my attention and expect news on this area.

  1. What are your passions outside of work?

I really enjoy my free time, I love to do sports, especially play basketball and do CrossFit. I like reading classic literature. Furthermore, I delight spending time with friends and family, and take classes of salsa to. Personally, I think this is very important for personal development.