

ISH Regional Advisory Groups Aims and objectives

The International Society of Hypertension (ISH) has established Regional Advisory Groups (RAGs) for major regions of the world;

(1) Africa
(2) Americas
(3) Asia Pacific - APAC
(4) Europe

- (5) Middle East and North Africa MENA
- (6) South and Central Asia SACA.

Purpose and key areas of responsibility for the RAGs:

To provide ISH representation globally, distil regional issues and encourage and enhance education, good clinical practice and biomedical research in the fields of hypertension and associated cardiovascular diseases.

- Work to represent the interests of their region with the ISH Council.
- Establish effective liaison between the ISH and national and regional societies of hypertension, councils of high blood Pressure Research and cardiac societies in their region.
- Encourage the formation of national hypertension societies (if not established).
- Carry out activities in co-operation with local or regional organisations as joint activities. These should be endorsed by the ISH and clearly promoted as such.
- Increase the number of people from the region who are members of the ISH to contribute to the mission of the ISH.
- Enhance and increase the engagement of existing ISH members from the region.
- Make the region aware of educational and research opportunities promoted by the ISH in the region and encourage members to participate.
- Liaise with the ISH communications team about initiatives or news from their region.
- Highlight their work once per year in a dedicated article in the Hypertension News journal of the ISH.
- The RAGs should work closely with the ISH Council with a two-way exchange of information. The RAG will report to Council through their Chair, either directly if the Chair is a Council member, or through the nominated Council lead for their RAG.
- Establish government links where possible.

Chair and membership positions:

- The term of office as Chair is a maximum of four years to allow the many outstanding researchers in the Society a chance to serve and shape the Society.
- RAG membership must be representative of the region. Usually no more than one person should join a RAG from a specific country unless clearly justified by the chair.
- Members should usually serve no more than four years on a group.

See overleaf countries associated with each of the six ISH regional groupings.

Countries grouped by ISH RAGs

(1) Africa

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Togo, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe

(2) Americas

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, USA, Uruguay, Venezuela

(3) Asia-Pacific (APAC)

Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea), East Timor, Fiji, Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Laos, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Niue, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea (South Korea), Samoa, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Taiwan, Vietnam

(4) Europe

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, San Merino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, UK

(5) Middle East and North Africa (MENA)

Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen

(6) South and Central Asia (SACA)

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan