International Society of Hypertension

ISH - Hero Image 1ISH - Hero Image 2ISH - Hero Image 3ISH - Hero Image 6ISH - Hero Image 8Suported by MedtronicISH - Hero Image 9ISH - Hero Image 14ISH - Hero Image 15ISH - Hero Image 16ISH - Hero Image 17ISH - Hero Image 18Suported by OmronISH - Hero Image 19ISH - Hero Image 20ISH - Hero Image 21ISH - Hero Image 22ISH - Hero Image 23Suported by Servier

ISH Awards & Prizes

The International Society of Hypertension (ISH) promotes and encourages the advancement of scientific research and knowledge and of its application in all aspects of hypertension and associated cardiovascular diseases. The Society offers a number of awards and lectureships at each Biennial Meeting.

A number of these awards are made possible by the specific and general support of our industry supporters, emphasizing their shared vision for the advancement of knowledge and recognition of achievement. The Society is most grateful for this generous support.

ISH Paul Korner Award, supported by the High Blood Pressure Research Foundation of Australia


This award was endowed by the High Blood Pressure Research Foundation in 2013 to honour the late Paul Korner. Paul Korner was an internationally renowned expert in the field of hypertension with a special interest in the neuroscience of blood pressure. He was a previous recipient of the highest ISH award the Franz Volhard Award and Lectureship for Outstanding Research in 1982. He was awarded a Distinguished Membership of the ISH in 2012. Paul was also the Founding Secretary of the High Blood Pressure Research Council of Australia. Through his mentorship, supervision and research activities he fostered the careers of many great clinicians and scientists.


The award shall be presented biennially (and from 2014), on the recommendation of the ISH Awards Committee to a person who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to research on Hypertension in the broad field of Neuroscience.


Applicants need not necessarily be a member of the ISH. Nominations for previous winners of any other senior award are not normally received, but might be considered if there is an outstanding independent case for this award. Officers of the Scientific Council of the ISH and members of the ISH Awards Committee are not eligible to be nominated. Exceptionally, other members of the ISH Council may be eligible.

Past Winners

  • Guido Grassi Image

    2018 Guido Grassi

    Guido Grassi, Milan, Italy

  • Kamal Rahmouni

    2016 Kamal Rahmouni

    Department of Pharmacology / Department of Internal Medicine / Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine / University of Iowa, USA

  • Geoff Head

    2014 Geoff Head

    Baker IDI Heart and Diabetes Institute, Melbourne, Australia

Latest Tweets:

The ISH is positively committed to opposing discrimination against people on the grounds of gender, race, colour, nationality, religion, marital status, sexual orientation, class, age, disability, having dependants, HIV status or perceived lifestyle.