International Society of Hypertension

ISH - Hero Image 1ISH - Hero Image 2ISH - Hero Image 3ISH - Hero Image 6ISH - Hero Image 8Suported by MedtronicISH - Hero Image 9ISH - Hero Image 14ISH - Hero Image 15ISH - Hero Image 16ISH - Hero Image 17ISH - Hero Image 18Suported by OmronISH - Hero Image 19ISH - Hero Image 20ISH - Hero Image 21ISH - Hero Image 22ISH - Hero Image 23Suported by Servier

ISH Awards & Prizes

The International Society of Hypertension (ISH) promotes and encourages the advancement of scientific research and knowledge and of its application in all aspects of hypertension and associated cardiovascular diseases. The Society offers a number of awards and lectureships at each Biennial Meeting.

A number of these awards are made possible by the specific and general support of our industry supporters, emphasizing their shared vision for the advancement of knowledge and recognition of achievement. The Society is most grateful for this generous support.

Jiří Widimský Snr. Award, funded by Prague Organizing Committee

(Award discontinued after the 2012 Meeting)

To be presented to three distinguished, young investigators (not older than 35 years) who have performed promising research in the field of clinical or experimental hypertension and presented on this subject at the respective ISH and/or ESH meeting(s). The Awards presented at ISH meetings are designed for investigators working in countries suffering from economic hardship. The Awards presented at the ESH meetings are for investigators working in European countries which were not EU members before 2003.

Awards will be presented for ten years up to 2012. The Awards are supported by the Czech Foundation for Hypertension Research and funded from the surplus from the Prague ISH/ESH Meeting 2002.

Each year, the selection of respective applicants will be carried out by the Widimsky Award Committee (Prague) based on the abstracts accepted for presentation for the ISH/ESH Meetings. The Award Selection Committee will also comprise representatives of ISH and ESH.

The past winners are as follows…


  • Jiri Widimsky Award winners.jpg

    Michal Behuliak Czech Republic

    Cesar Andres Romero Argentina

    Amin Shah Nepal

2010 - ISH Meeting in Vancouver

  • L Jorge 2010 R Horton 2010

    L Jorge Brazil

    H Majane South Africa

    P Wohlfart Slovakia and T Zampieri Brazil

2008 - Joint ISH/ESH Meeting in Berlin

  • P. Sarafidis Greece

    P. Jankowski Poland

    Katia Bürgi Brazil

    M.A. Lopez Verrilli Argentina

2006 - ISH Meeting in Fukuoka

  • C. Forjaz & C. Cardoso Jr Brazil

    D. Pall Hungary

    A.P. Kengne Cameroon

2004 - ISH Meeting in Sao Paolo

  • A.P. Dantas Brazil

    M. Franco Brazil

    A.F. Vidonho Brazil

2002 - Joint ISH/ESH Meeting in Prague

  • J. Loukotová Czech Republic

    Z. Lakó-Futö Hungary

    M. Winnicki Poland

Latest Tweets:

The ISH is positively committed to opposing discrimination against people on the grounds of gender, race, colour, nationality, religion, marital status, sexual orientation, class, age, disability, having dependants, HIV status or perceived lifestyle.