International Society of Hypertension

ISH - Hero Image 1ISH - Hero Image 2ISH - Hero Image 3ISH - Hero Image 6ISH - Hero Image 8Suported by MedtronicISH - Hero Image 9ISH - Hero Image 14ISH - Hero Image 15ISH - Hero Image 16ISH - Hero Image 17ISH - Hero Image 18Suported by OmronISH - Hero Image 19ISH - Hero Image 20ISH - Hero Image 21ISH - Hero Image 22ISH - Hero Image 23Suported by Servier

ISH Awards & Prizes

The International Society of Hypertension (ISH) promotes and encourages the advancement of scientific research and knowledge and of its application in all aspects of hypertension and associated cardiovascular diseases. The Society offers a number of awards and lectureships at each Biennial Meeting.

A number of these awards are made possible by the specific and general support of our industry supporters, emphasizing their shared vision for the advancement of knowledge and recognition of achievement. The Society is most grateful for this generous support.

ISH Distinguished Mentor Award

This Award (new from 2018) will honour a member of the ISH who has made outstanding contributions to the mentoring of students/trainees and/or junior faculty in the field of hypertension and cardiovascular disease.

Letters of nomination should be submitted to the Mentorship and Training Committee detailing the accomplishments of the Mentor. This can include any of this non-exhaustive list:

  1. Intellectual leadership; supporting excellence in research,
  2. Presentation and publication; creating a supportive environment for research
  3. Scholarship; providing the resources necessary to take full advantage of institutional
  4. Academic and professional opportunities (publications, conferences, networking, etc.)
  5. Helping mentees overcome problems, discord, or barriers

The nomination letter should be accompanied by a copy of the mentors CV.

  • The Award must be collected in person at the ISH Biennial Scientific Meeting.
  • The Award recipient will be honoured with a lecture on their “Philosophy of Successful Mentoring” to be given to trainees at the New Investigator Committee Session to be held at the ISH Biennial Scientific Meeting.
  • Self-nomination will NOT be accepted.
  • Nominations for previous winners of any other ISH award are not normally received, but might be considered if there is an outstanding independent case for this award.
  • Officers of the Scientific Council of the ISH and members of the ISH Awards Committee are not eligible to be nominated. Exceptionally, other members of the ISH Council may be eligible.


Past Winners

  • >Dr. Jan Danser Profile Image

    Dr. Jan Danser (Netherlands)

    Dr. A. H. J. (Jan) Danser studied pharmacy at the University of Amsterdam. In 1985, as a student, he worked at the Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota, USA, studying the role of prejunctional β1 receptors in canine bronchi. After obtaining his pharmacist’s degree, he joined the Department of Internal Medicine at the Erasmus MC in Rotterdam as a PhD student. He defended his thesis in 1992, and then joined the Department of Pharmacology at the Erasmus MC. He currently is Professor of Pharmacology and heads the Division of Pharmacology within the Pharmacology and Vascular Medicine Sector of the Department of Internal Medicine at the Erasmus MC.

    His research focuses on the pathogenesis and therapy of hypertension and heart failure, with special emphasis on the renin-angiotensin-aldosterone system, its local function(s) and the synthesis of its components at tissue sites. He has supervised >40 PhD students since 1993. In addition, he teaches basic and clinical pharmacology as well as pharmacotherapy at the Erasmus MC. He has published >380 papers in internationally refereed journals, and he has presented >250 invited lectures worldwide. He received several awards, including the World Heart Federation Young Investigators' Award (1998), the Robert Tigerstedt Award (2010), the Arthur C. Corcoran Award (2011), and the Pieter A. van Zwieten Award (2015). In 2015 he was chosen as ‘’Promotor of the Year’’ by the Erasmus MC PhD students committee PROMERAS. He was president of the Dutch Pharmacological Society from 2011-2015, and he chaired the Angiotensin Gordon Conference 2014. He is the current chair of the Dutch Galien Award Committee. He has been elected Fellow of the British Pharmacology Society in in 2017. He is married and has two sons and one daughter.

  • Professor James Sharman Profile Image

    Professor James Sharman (Australia)

    Professor James Sharman is a clinical physiologist with special interest in accurate blood pressure measurement, ventricular-vascular interaction and exercise haemodynamics. He is a Senior Research Fellow and Deputy Director at the Menzies Institute for Medical Research, University of Tasmania, Hobart, Australia. He also heads the Blood Pressure Research Group and has undertaken some of the first studies to understand the physiology and clinical relevance of aortic blood pressure.

Latest Tweets:

The ISH is positively committed to opposing discrimination against people on the grounds of gender, race, colour, nationality, religion, marital status, sexual orientation, class, age, disability, having dependants, HIV status or perceived lifestyle.