The members section of the ISH website is currently being upgraded.

We apologise that you cannot access it at present but we will be back online shortly.
In the meantime, please call the Secretariat with any questions on +44 (0) 20 8977 7997

International Society of Hypertension

ISH - Hero Image 1ISH - Hero Image 2ISH - Hero Image 3ISH - Hero Image 5ISH - Hero Image 6ISH - Hero Image 7ISH - Hero Image 8ISH - Hero Image 9ISH - Hero Image 10ISH - Hero Image 11ISH - Hero Image 12ISH - Hero Image 13ISH - Hero Image 14ISH - Hero Image 15ISH - Hero Image 16ISH - Hero Image 17

ISH Awards & Prizes

The International Society of Hypertension (ISH) promotes and encourages the advancement of scientific research and knowledge and of its application in all aspects of hypertension and associated cardiovascular diseases. The Society offers a number of awards and lectureships at each Biennial Meeting.

A number of these awards are made possible by the specific and general support of our Corporate Members, emphasizing their shared vision for the advancement of knowledge and recognition of achievement. The Society is most grateful for this generous support.

ISH Developing World Award


This award is for a researcher in the developing world* who has done outstanding work in the region.



The nomination should include full curriculum vitae, a short resume of his/her research, no more than 5 publications, which the applicant considers as important publications and a letter of support from the applicant's mentor. The awardee will be expected to submit an abstract of his/her research for the ISH Scientific meeting.


Must be a member of the ISH. Nominations for previous winners of any other senior award are not normally received, but might be considered if there is an outstanding independent case for this award. Officers of the Scientific Council of the ISH and members of the ISH Awards Committee are not eligible to be nominated. Exceptionally, other members of the ISH Council may be eligible.

Past Winners

ISH would like to thank Boehringer Ingelheim for supporting this award up to 2012.

  • Yakoob K. Seedat

    2014 Yakoob K. Seedat

    Nelson R. Mandela School of Medicine, University of Kwa Zulu Natal, Durban, South Africa

  • T Jafar 2012

    2012 T Jafar

  • K Sliwa 2010

    2010 K Sliwa

  • A Damasceno 2008

    2008 A Damasceno

  • T Forrester 2006

    2006 T Forrester

  • 2004 O Akinkugbe

  • 2002 L Liu