The members section of the ISH website is currently being upgraded.

We apologise that you cannot access it at present but we will be back online shortly.
In the meantime, please call the Secretariat with any questions on +44 (0) 20 8977 7997

International Society of Hypertension

ISH - Hero Image 1ISH - Hero Image 2ISH - Hero Image 3ISH - Hero Image 5ISH - Hero Image 6ISH - Hero Image 7ISH - Hero Image 8ISH - Hero Image 9ISH - Hero Image 10ISH - Hero Image 11ISH - Hero Image 12ISH - Hero Image 13ISH - Hero Image 14ISH - Hero Image 15ISH - Hero Image 16ISH - Hero Image 17

ISH Awards & Prizes

The International Society of Hypertension (ISH) promotes and encourages the advancement of scientific research and knowledge and of its application in all aspects of hypertension and associated cardiovascular diseases. The Society offers a number of awards and lectureships at each Biennial Meeting.

A number of these awards are made possible by the specific and general support of our Corporate Members, emphasizing their shared vision for the advancement of knowledge and recognition of achievement. The Society is most grateful for this generous support.

ISH Franz Volhard Award and Lectureship for Outstanding Research



This award and lectureship was endowed by Farbwerke Hoechst in 1972 to commemorate the centenary of the birth of Franz Volhard.


The award shall be made biennially to a person or persons who, in the opinion of the Awards Committee of the ISH, shall have initiated in the field of hypertension or in a related discipline, a concept which remains of current interest. The recipient shall be invited to deliver to the ISH a lecture on the topic for which the award is bestowed. Award nominators must clearly state the concept that the nominee has initiated which remains of current interest, and provide supporting evidence.


Must be a member of the ISH. Nominations for previous winners of any other senior award are not normally received, but might be considered if there is an outstanding independent case for this award.

Officers of the Scientific Council of the ISH and members of the ISH Awards Committee are not eligible to be nominated. Exceptionally, other members of the ISH Council may be eligible.

Past Winners

  • J Hall 2012

    2014 Toshiro Fujita

    University of Tokyo School of Medicine, Tokyo, Japan

  • J Hall 2012

    2012 J Hall

  • G MacGregor 2010

    2010 G MacGregor

  • T Pickering 2008

    2008 T Pickering

  • G Mancia 2006

    2006 G Mancia

  • 2004 H Gavras

  • 2002 H Brunner

  • 2000 L Landsberg

  • 1998 JP Chalmers

  • 1996 H de Wardener

  • 1994 E Muirhead

  • 1992 C Johnston

  • 1990 J Shepherd

  • 1988 L Tobian

  • 1986 A Zanchetti

  • 1984 F Gross

  • 1982 P Korner

  • 1980 E Haber

  • 1978 B Folkow

  • 1976 F Byrom

  • 1974 G Pickering