The members section of the ISH website is currently being upgraded.

We apologise that you cannot access it at present but we will be back online shortly.
In the meantime, please call the Secretariat with any questions on +44 (0) 20 8977 7997

International Society of Hypertension

ISH - Hero Image 1ISH - Hero Image 2ISH - Hero Image 3ISH - Hero Image 5ISH - Hero Image 6ISH - Hero Image 7ISH - Hero Image 8ISH - Hero Image 9ISH - Hero Image 10ISH - Hero Image 11ISH - Hero Image 12ISH - Hero Image 13ISH - Hero Image 14ISH - Hero Image 15ISH - Hero Image 16ISH - Hero Image 17

ISH Awards & Prizes

The International Society of Hypertension (ISH) promotes and encourages the advancement of scientific research and knowledge and of its application in all aspects of hypertension and associated cardiovascular diseases. The Society offers a number of awards and lectureships at each Biennial Meeting.

A number of these awards are made possible by the specific and general support of our Corporate Members, emphasizing their shared vision for the advancement of knowledge and recognition of achievement. The Society is most grateful for this generous support.

Austin Doyle Award

Austin Doyle Award


This award was established to recognise the contribution of Austin Doyle, Past President of the ISH and Founding Chairman of the High Blood Pressure Research Council of Australia.


It will be awarded to a graduate, who is within 5 years of post graduate qualification. The recipient will be judged to have submitted the best original presentation relevant to clinical medicine, at the ISH Biennial Scientific Meeting.


Must be willing to join the ISH as a member following receipt of award. Previous winners of this award are not eligible for nomination a second time.

Past Winners

  • Vikas Kapil

    2014 Vikas Kapil

    Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary University London, UK

    Abstract presented: Dietary Nitrate To Reduce Blood Pressure In Hypertensive Patients (dina-htn): A Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Clinical Trial.

  • E Azizan

    2012 E Azizan

  • W Bosu 2010

    2010 W Bosu


  • A Grzesiak 2008

    2008 A Grzesiak

  • A Schulz 2006

    2006 A Schulz

  • 2004 S Padmanabhan / M Furuhashi

  • 2002 M Hausberg

  • 2000 K Narkiewicz

  • 1998 W Haynes

  • 1996 C Whorwood

  • 1994 K Kitamura